snow, bikes, and an indoor 5k   2 comments

The weekly update starts with copious amounts of snow-shoveling. I went out on Thursday around 9:30 and worked for about 3.5 hours until everything was clear. I’ve kept pretty fit when it comes to moving stuff with all the boxes last year, but I got my fill. Friday of course brought a second round and I wore out any muscles that didn’t get totally worked over in ’round 1′ of utility-cross-fit. After the drive and walk was clear I took pugsley out for a little bit of time in it’s natural element…

pugsnow

If I had it to do all over I’d go out first and then do chores. The roads were still bad enough to make the ride entertaining, but cars had found their way out too, making it less than fun. There were also intermittent spots with 4 or 5 inches of water since drainage was pretty much non-existent. By the time I got back 40 minutes later the lower half of my body was soaked.

We celebrated Valentines Day Friday evening. That was my first true cheat day. I weighed in early for this week and dropped another 1.2, but have some work to do getting back on track from dinner.

On Saturday, a caustic combination of muscle stiffness from the snow shoveling and cabin fever set in pretty hard. I decided to have a light workout on the treadmill and felt good enough after getting warmed up to turn it into a 5k. After the 5k part I kept going to make it an hour run for 4.4 miles total. I wanted to go again today, but decided not to because I don’t want to get overzealous and thrash my ankles like I did in November.

Posted February 16, 2014 by bikesncoffee in Bikes, weight loss

2 responses to “snow, bikes, and an indoor 5k

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice cross training, Dave. The only exertion I get other than biking is lugging the Kogs up the steps at the metro. A good work-out, but less than a tenth of the time of yours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

