Morning Ride

It takes a lot to get me out of bed early in the morning, but when push comes to shove, I can drag myself from under the covers. All week I was thinking about all the things I had to finish around the house in the next week. With the wife graduating with her Masters on Friday, we’re having people over, and I, in my infinite wisdom promised that I’d finish a bunch of painting and clean up the place. Looking at the calendar, it was Saturday morning or never for a long ride. I was up at 5. At the trail at 6. It was glorious. Of all the riding I do over the course of the year, there are maybe 2 or 3 rides which stand out, and this was one of them. Fairly leisurely pace as always, something in the range of 12-13 mphs overall, but I’m not sure because I forgot to hit stop on the stopwatch at my break in Monkton on the way back. 40ish miles (no computer yet). I had taken the camera to do some macro nature photography, but forgot to check my flash batteries, so I didn’t get too far with that.

Wildlife is everywhere at 6 in the morning. Caught a glimpse of deer, rabbits, chipmunks, what I believe were yellow finches, and lots more.

Best part is no butt pain, no hand numbness, or any other sorts of pain to speak of. I can boast that even WITH carrying a pack full of 7 pounds of camera stuff on my back. I felt super strong the entire time too. It’s so nice after all these years to have a bike that fits right.

new freedom

New additions since last transmission include a Planet Bike frame pump (large), Planet Bike Cascadia touring fenders, and a big Topeak wedge to stow tools, tube, and locks in until I can find a decently priced saddlebag solution that I really like.

Did I mention I love this bike?

bell

Then it was off to sit in the long lines at Lowes on the way home to get paint and sundries for assorted house projects.

Back at home I washed the trail dust off the bike like someone who just got back from their first long ride, made my first iced skim latte of the season, and started prepping 2 or 3 areas around the house for the painting I’m doing this week after work.

The evening was going out with Jo and Mark for a little overpriced French Food and wine. They were going to come back to the house after dinner for drinks and such, but Jo kept pointing out how tired I looked. By 10 p.m. I was not in the position to argue.

Good times, noodle salad.

2 thoughts on “Morning Ride

  1. Hey! Those fenders look great and really set off the shiny bits on the rest of the bike. It’s funny but I usually park my bike in the same spot, only headed in the other direction coming down from York. I can just imagine us passing each other and slamming on the brakes…”don’t I know that bike?” We’ll need to rendevous this summer.

    Being someone who was on the ten year plan for college, my advice is to take as many courses as you can, but only stuff you enjoy.

  2. It was a real nice time on Saturday. I was wishing that I didn’t have a whole agenda of things to do planned for the rest of the day. I would have gone all the way to York for sure. New Freedom became my defacto cut-off point for regular rides. Years ago there used to be this really nice grocery store that my friend who I used to ride with and I would stop and eat lunch at. Sadly, it closed a year or 2 ago. We’ll catch up somewhere down the road I’m sure. I was thinking about trying to do that ride up in PA this weekend, but there’s too much going on down here right now to take a whole day.

    The fenders are really nice for a $30 set, and the big mudflaps give it a retro-looking twist. I remembered seeing these Honjo hammered aluminum fenders on a bike on the Riv site a while back when they had a gallery of customers bikes, but I’m already over my bike budget for the year by about $200 and I still need a rear rack…

Leave a Reply

