New Stuff to Read – New Resolutions to Make

I was surfing through Surly blog and found a link to these guys. A little indie bike magazine that has interviews and articles about people, art, technology, and other bicycle related material that is out of the subset of carbon fiber forks and spandex shorts. Fun to waste a few hours on. If I had more writing skills I’d volunteer an article.

One of my favorite articles was an interview with Grant Peterson of Rivendell fame on the subject of sub-24 hour bike camping trips. The following question really hit home for me…

[“What is the biggest mistake people make when bike camping?”
“Thinking about going but not actually going.”]

It dawned on me that even if you have the skill and are prepared, or have a reasonably good plan to do a trip, it’s easy to talk yourself out of it at the last minute and rob yourself of a good experience. I have been guilty of this more than once for a variety of reasons. Some justified, some not. All of them have been regrets. I’ve spent many a rainy evening in a tent and while I’ve wanted very much to be dry after 4 days of soggy shoes, I’ve never once regretted going. So rain or shine, or imposing schedule, or otherwise… I’m going to add one of these trips to my ‘things to do in 2008’ list. I really enjoy spring to early summer in the precious few weeks after the world thaws, but before the mass of it’s population recognizes that they can go outside and enjoy it, so I think I’ll have to make that ‘go’ time…

Also on my favorite quotes of the week list is this little snippet of prose from what is now 4 posts down in the Surly blog. I have no idea where the first part is going, which only adds to the charm. I’ve seen the book the picture links to before. I may just buy it now. The illustration is great (but duck could use a little more stand-over room).

[ Lastly, a Taiwanese riddle:

Duck Nick works for Surly. Chicken Nick works for our Taiwan agent. We received word today that Duck Nick has defeated Chicken Nick. Duck Nick was able to keep all the 18 year old scotch on the inside. Chicken Nick was not – a couple of times.

duckvschicken.jpg

This leads us to the following set of axioms (axia?):

Given any competition between a chicken and a duck, we’re going to pick the duck every time for the following reasons:

1. Ducks can fight on land and on water – that’s amphibious yo. Chickens drown.
2. Ducks can fly. Chickens are slaves to gravity.
3. Duck hunting can be fun and challenging because ducks are wily. Shooting chickens, while potentially fun, is no challenge at all.
4. Chickens work for the Man. They sit quietly as we make them into bullion and steal their eggs. Ducks aren’t having that shit.
5. If someone yells “DUCK!” at you, they’re trying to help you avoid a low flying object. You should thank them. If someone yells “CHICKEN!” at you, you have to kick their ass.

So, let’s recap. It’s cold. Buy a bike. Bet on the duck. ]

 

Leave a Reply

