happy belated holidays

Now comes that bloated feeling from Christmas and dinner tables. I spent a week of eating where I averaged 2500-2600 calories a day. That comes from 2 or 3 of my normal days, and 3 or 4 days of 3000-4000 calories after separate family dinners on different days. When looked at from the viewpoint of a middle-aged, relatively tall and active man, that is nothing. Looked at from the perspective of a person who has spent the last 20 years dieting on and off, all the while honing his metabolism into a marvel of super high efficiency that is a guaranteed weight gain of 2 pounds minimum. This year went better than expected. For the first time ever I made it through the entire year journalling every day including holidays. It was a royal pain in the butt, but left me with a wealth of information about what I can eat, when, and how active I have to be to lose and maintain weight. I averaged 1467 calories a day (or 33.5 points if you use the weight watchers system) after subtracting for activity. My year end push to eat correctly through December left me posting my best numbers of the year on the Friday before Christmas with 233.2 lbs. That’s a loss of 19.4 since January 1 and 24.4 from my highpoint of the year. (I gained weight all through Jan.) That being said, I didn’t weigh in on the Friday AFTER Christmas because I wasn’t home (very conveniently). Every time I think about getting on a scale I cover my ears and start shouting “lalalala — I can’t hear you” at the top of my lungs. Joking aside, I’m very pleased with progress and with a weekend ride or 2 mixed in during the month of January, I should be able to keep the winter bloat at bay.

weightloss_chart

Yellow solid line is 2008. Green Boxes are 2007. I appear to hold steady in weight at numbers around 10800cals/238pts. Taking weeks 18-48, 13 pounds lost in 30 wks for .43lbs wkly. avg 9587cals/228.5points. 3500cals x .43 = 1505. 10800-9587=1213, so roughly speaking, my 3500 cals = 1lb assumptions are correct. My calculations are relatively accurate and I can plan for future weight loss by mapping my caloric needs and monitoring my intake/activity patterns. Weight loss for 9 weeks in summer (28-36), I lost 8 pounds while consuming a net 1122cals/28.8pts average daily over period (7854/202wkly). 10800-7854 = 2946/3500=.84 8lbs/9wks=.88 so that calculation is close as well.

Now if no one minds, I’m going to run in place for a few days to prepare for New Years… 🙂

Leave a Reply

