Gillis Falls Ride

I’ve needed a kick in the butt for the last month or so. I looked on the Baltimore Bicycle Club’s site and picked out a ride to try something different. The weekend forecast was clear all weekend long, so I was a little bummed to wake up around 6:30 Sunday morning to steady rain. I went back to bed and got up around 8 to clearing skies. It left me just enough time to get up, quick grab my stuff, and drive out to the meeting spot.

DSCN4611-farm-country-sm

Farm Country (click pic for large)

The route was great. I love to get out a little earlier to avoid traffic, but all in all it wasn’t that bad. There was a group of about 7 who showed up, and we quickly broke up, so aside from a little conversation at the beginning, rest stops, and end I was alone for most of the ride. The scenery was mostly rolling countryside and old turn-of-the-century railway towns, with a little suburbia thrown in for good measure.

DSCN4613sm-sykesville-stn

RR Station in Sykesville (click pic for larger)

For most of the day I felt really strong. There was a little over 2000 feet of climbing, and by the end of the day I was starting to feel it on the last hills (might also have been that it was around noon and I still didn’t have a cup of coffee yet either). I only missed one turn, but it was a benign error that just made my scenery a little less interesting in 1 part. Need to invest in a cuesheet/map holder of some sort. There were a few riders I was trying to keep up with after the rest stop, and I’d watch them cresting the rolling hill ahead of me just as I was getting half way down the hills before them. I’m not sure I’ll have the chance to do an organized event ride this year due to schedules, but it’s nice to be able to get out and try some different routes and areas in a group. Most likely I’ll be a member very soon.

Thanks to Mike for putting on a great ride.

2:36:46 / 34.11 miles / 13 mph avg / 42.3 max

(click for bikely map, and cuesheet [cuesheet still being ‘worked on’…])

The Smartwool baselayer shirt with a good T-shirt over top makes a great upper-body cycling combination for me even on sunny mid 80’s days like this. It kept off the chill in the morning before things warmed up, and wasn’t hot at all even into the afternoon. Thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

