Rough winter on the equip too

I cleaned up the 1×7 when I pulled it out of the closet for winter rotation, and I’ve been beating it into the ground for 4 months. Last week Nashbar had a small sale, so I put together an order of a few things, some tubes and the 1″ headset it needed.

The headset install turned out to be more of an ordeal than it was worth, and made me decide that it would be the last one I would ever do myself. I have plenty of good measuring tools, but not too much in the way of machining equipment. Unlike my headset install on the Specialized, the 1×7 wasn’t exactly to spec. The cups went in ok. When it came time to set the crown race, the fork was about 15/1000″ to large. Doesn’t sound like much to squabble over until you try to press 2 pieces of hardened steel together. I did some careful hand-tooling for about 45 minutes the next night and finally pressed the two pieces in. I came away from it sort of wishing I had just left it to someone with a crown race setter, headset press, and the proper cutting/facing tools at their disposal. Bludgeoning the fork of a bike with a hammer and a piece of pipe is no way to act, even if it is 14 years old. I checked all my measurements and everything is within tolerance so it should work just fine.

I’ve still been curious about half-clips even though the mks models hurt my feet after 20 minutes. Nashbar had a pair of plastic ones for $3, so I said what the hey and decided to try them out. After finishing with the headset, I flipped the bike upside down to throw the new pedals on and saw just how dry and rusty a chain can get when you leave your bike outside for a month with the snow, salt, road grime, cold and humidity. I even lubed it once or twice…

Before I brought it back into regular rotation, I wanted to put it on the trainer and test out the half-clips in a controlled environ. Wasn’t 2 seconds after it was bolted into the trainer before I detected a wobble. Turns out there was a broken spoke on the non-drive side of the back wheel.

The hub is a Shimano ‘Silent-Clutch’ that I stole from the Trek 930. One of my ‘good-old’ wheels from the era when human beings still hand-laced wheels for bikes that cost less than $2000. Haven’t decided if I want to buy a new spoke and band-aid it together, or just rebuild the entire thing. The rim probably only has 25% of its braking surface left anyway. Good news is I have one more spare wheel around, so I can just sit on it for a while before I decide.

Leave a Reply

