score one for REI

I picked up a pair of Merrell Isotherm 6 boots back in early December to wear on cold weather rides and have around the house as an extra pair of snow boots. They were super warm, looked great, and the sole was holding up to regular abuse. Only problem was that I would brush my crank arm against the inside of my foot and it was causing the boot to separate above the rubber midsole after only a month or 250ish miles of riding. Well I was so happy with them initially that I recycled the box and threw out the receipt after my credit bill was paid. I took them back today to see if they’d give me a partial store credit towards something else, or at least help me talk with Merrell about it. Turns out they gave me the full purchase price back on my card NQA. Talk about standing by your customer satisfaction guarantee! They already sort-of had a customer for life, but this cements it for me. It costs a bit more than some places (which you can mitigate with your dividend), but there’s not too many places out there that’ll stand by products they sell like that. So back to the drawing board with the shoes thing, but at least I’m not out $125.

Leave a comment