2013 Coffeeneur #1

I’m out of the gates a few weeks behind schedule on the coffeeneur challenge Mary over at Chasing Mailboxes is putting on for 2013. I saw it weeks ago and started planning with good intentions, but true to form I just worked through my weekends and missed out until now.

This week was not only a ride for a beverage, but also a reconnaissance mission to find a good local supplier for fresh espresso beans. I haven’t had the Sylvia on in months mostly because I don’t want to buy a whole pound of beans just to have 1 day of fresh shots. Last time I tried that I overdosed on coffee and ended up with the jitters all afternoon. Good news is I found a shop that sells small batches AND has a great espresso.

Destination: CoffeeCoffee in the Festival at Bel Air.

Date: Saturday, 10/19

Drink: Espresso Milano Roast Triple Shot with a dash of cream

The Ride: I wasn’t certain it was far enough away as a straight shot to qualify, so I did a little ride up Tollgate to tack on a few extra miles. This was my first ride on a cloth bar tape rewrap. I like the grip of the cloth, but it has no padding at all. I’ll have to use gloves for that I guess. I stopped by a local bike store to check it out and get some energy bars for my ride tomorrow, but they weren’t open for another 40 minutes so nothing to report there.

Distance: 7.2 mi and about 40min. on the bike.

Photo:
2013-coffeeneur-1An uninspiring cup for such an excellent shot…

I’ll have to make up my missed weeks on another weekend. I’m out in Frederick for an ‘organized ride’ all day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

