ramble to rocks

Jen went out to Vegas last week with the ladies for a getaway and I was on my own. I decided to take a few vacation days as well. Normal people would take some time to do something relaxing but I decided to paint the master bedroom and get it out of the way. It turned out to be more work than I thought it would be which led to 3 marathon days of painting and other chores with no riding. By Thursday I was glad to go to work and not be around the house. Today was like a beautiful redemption for last week when I made it out for my regular Monday solo ride and finished the full route I’ve been chipping away at for the past 2 months.

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 8.35.49 PM

Weather and ride was as perfect as it gets. I didn’t want it to end but I really pushed myself and was pretty whipped by the time I got back or I would have looped around some of the valleys south of 152 again. I got an inexpensive point-n’-shoot in my easter basket so I’ll save the long winded stories and just show some pictures of the landscape. Apologies for all the crookedness–still getting used to the controls. Fiddling with a camera chips away at my average but I’ve decided I don’t give a crap.

IMG_2401Cosner Rd. — nothing ever looks steep in pictures. The really gnarly part is around the corner but I’d already put my camera away…

IMG_2402Rocks State Park

IMG_2410The roads around the park are pretty sweet.

IMG_2411Salsa hubshot

IMG_2415On Rocks Chrome Hill Rd.

IMG_2418Same farm from the last 3 rides – this time from Rocks Chrome Hill Rd. instead of Rigdon

IMG_2420  IMG_2424Abandoned house on Pocock Rd.

IMG_2427Pocock again with trees along the ridge in full bloom.

Distance: 52.1mi | moving time: 4h10m | avg: 12.5 | mv avg: 12.9 | elev: 5596′

3 thoughts on “ramble to rocks

Leave a Reply

